top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureuclaspcn

Why I Became Masa Coord

Updated: May 9, 2020

by Seth Evasco

he/him/his


 

Ever since coming to college, dance has always been an outlet for me to express myself and find ways to show my artistry. Each experience that I find myself in has pushed me to become better at what I do and even more inspired to be able to show and teach that passion to others.

There’s one moment that plays over and over again when I think about why I wanted to become the Masa Coordinator. My first year, for the 41st SPCN, I was part of Cast Modern (the former name for the Masa suite). It was the day of the show and we had just performed on stage. We came back to see our coordinators, Sahrang and Genesis, crying their hearts out. That moment right there made me think about what it would feel like to be in that same position. I wanted to feel that same wave of emotions after watching my suite do their best out there on the Royce stage.

Through Samahang Modern’s leadership, I became their SPCN Representative and SPCN’s Masa Coordinator. With the title came an opportunity for me to be able to live out that thought of being able to show others the love I have for dance. Leading was a lot different than I expected, but it was rewarding nonetheless. Seeing them do the choreography that I had created me and follow my lead in something that I had just started getting into. But seeing Masa out there during practice made me so proud of them and how far along I had come on my journey. I was excited to be able to see them on the Royce stage.

Unfortunately, that image will remain an image, but I gained a much more valuable and personal experience through this position. Working with my Committee and my suite taught me a lot about myself as a person and a leader and I saw a lot of personal growth as well. Although I couldn’t experience Royce for myself, I want to thank everyone who was part of the experiences I had that got me closer and closer to that moment.






59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page